Oh Dear, I’m Going to Miss the Rapture Again

Just when I thought that the apocalypse had already happened and no one had caught on, I got a flyer in the mail that reaffirmed my faith in prognosticators and prophets. “IS THE END NEAR?” it asks. “Find out Friday, October 24.”

prophecy-signs_15Look familiar?  They seem to have read my book, at least.

Darn. I’m going to be in Indianapolis on the 24th, attending the Magna Cum Murder mystery convention. I’ll miss my chance to get the date. Of course, it’s a five night seminar, including a section on how to unmask the Antichrist, a skill that I think would be most useful.  However, if I go to seven nights I get a free DVD. Does that mean there are two nights that are secret, only for the Saved? Or does it mean that I need to sit in a hall with nothing happening in the hope that the DVD will fall from heaven?

I am doomed to ignorance. If anyone else finds the answers, please let me know.

On another eschatological note, I have heard some people say that ISIS etc. is apocalyptic. That’s not correct. For one thing, in Islam (Christianity, too, actually) it’s blasphemy to try to predict God’s plan. For another, this group wants to establish a Caliphate that, like the Third Reich, will last a thousand years. I’ll write more on them on my other blog, Cassandra. It’s taking me a long time to put it together. I keep wasting time checking my sources. If I worked from ignorance, like politicians do, I could get it done much sooner.

Still, there do seem to be Signs everywhere. I don’t rush to Revelations to see if everything that happens will release a seal, but I suspect that the people here in Aleppo wouldn’t need much convincing that the End of the World is nigh.APTOPIX Mideast Syria

3 Responses to “Oh Dear, I’m Going to Miss the Rapture Again”

  1. mmmmikkimac1 Says:

    Great article. I find it amusing, that certain people believe in “The Rapture” – many who have computers and never bother to use one to do research – one point of organized religion I do not care for – it seems many people are too easily led in the wrong direction by false prophets, and are desperate to find something ‘out there’ when it is within themselves.

    Before 1830, no one had heard that ” one cataclysmic moment, millions around the globe disappear,” or that “those left behind, terror stricken, are desperate to determine what happened,” which is what you’ll find on the back cover of Tribulation, volume two of the Left Behind series. Authors Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins, along with the likes of Hal Lindsay, the late Jerry Falwell and others, are proponents of the work of English clergyman John Nelson Darby. It was around 1830 that Darby, having selected scripture passages from Daniel, Revelation, 1 and 2 Thessalonians and elsewhere, pasted them together, called them a whole, and invented the Rapture, a word not found in the Bible.

  2. Edward Nelson Says:

    The rapture itself is not biblical, but belief in something like a rapture goes back quite some ways. Explaining to a modern literalist believer that the Revelation is not a specific blue print for the end times is enough of a challenge. But the twinkling of an eye, caught up in the air etc. are powerful subtle metaphors that many find easy to interpret literally. Getting the literalist to realize that their interpretation is simply that: an interpretation, is really tough.

  3. Sharan Newman Says:

    The Rapture is one interpretation of something in the Bible. Since it has so many passages that reflect different situations, there are multitudes of possible interpretations. However, I find that those who consider their point of view to be the only one can’t be moved. It’s the same with those who self-interpret the Koran.

Leave a Reply

